breathing praises….

by e

“when I think about the heavens, the moon and the stars
I wonder what you ever saw in me…

But you took me and you loved,
you’ve given me a crown…

and now I’ll praise your name eternally…”

I miss adventure camp… It was a blessing for me to go through it while I was in NS…

From one NS camp to a Church boot-camp? I thought that was a blessing leh… it was a better camp indeed…

We chiong-ed that night… one am… pitch black darkness… grumblings…. long road…

I had no encouragement that night but Jesus… only Jesus…

It was a church camp right? People are supposed to gracious and stuff right… Your siblings in Christ wouldn’t snap at you right?

Wrong… I saw flesh manifesting.. I saw my own flesh manifest… getting impatient with other impatient people…

Adventure camp was like a reenactment of our ‘outside-church’ life… the face we show other people whom aren’t from church…the attitude we have when we’re annoyed and aren’t ready to ‘show grace’ too…

For me church wasn’t the same anymore.. I saw the worst in my ‘church-friends’ – even a friendly game of tag became a war…

but you know what… that camp made real friends out of the wrong ‘religious’ church friends I had…

Though Lucas killed me in the game… though I was angry and annoyed (wah lao friendly fire!) It was after adventure camp when I decided that I would take a bullet for this really really precious brother to me… Yes I would take a bullet for him… that’s how real a buddy he has been to me…

mei shavonne, whom I’ve never saw grumpy… snapped at lucas… Bad attitude arises when you don’t have enough sleep… It was after adventure camp where I really told myself.. I’ve seen mei mei’s flesh.. I’m still sticking by her… I’m her brother afterall…I’ll still be her bro.. blood is thicker than water..

Jansen…Right before adventure camp.. we made cookies together…if not for adventure camp we wouldn’t have met up to bake cookies and pack for camp… I wouldn’t be so close to him… After adventure camp we just supernaturally grew closer as bros… He is my blessing…

Alvin… I’m not even that close to him… Just three words that I said impacted his life… just three word.. and they don’t even run with the camp slogan… “Just let go” instead of “never let go”… and we just supernaturally forge a godly alliance as brothers… and He is prolly one of the reasons why I decided to move to sp…

these are just snippets of the real friends God made for me in adventure camp…if not for adventure camp I wouldn’t made been able to make my life-changing decision to change cg…

if not for adventure camp I wouldn’t have met her….

Campfire…I’m glad Pastor introduced to us the song “How excellent your name is”

because I could relate to the song… as I took that long route march the night before…

I miss adventure camp… I miss the realness I saw in camp… the unmasked people.. no frills.. no religious movement.. but pure Joy of Jesus.. the desperate need for Jesus (even as Christians)

Lord let me relive that adventure camp moment again… the walks under the stars…

Because I need not hurt so much… In adventure camp… it didn’t hurt so much despite the many crazy things they made us do… because I knew you walked with me…

Real life wasn’t very different from adv camp.. It’s just that we faced different kinds of shit la…

but shit is still shit…no matter what context you find it in…

If in adv camp I could trust Jesus.. and sing praises to Him despite the siansation…

how much more real life?

Breathing praises is as easy as breathing air…

It SHOULD be supernaturally natural for me to breathe praises like breathing air…

not the religious kind of ‘saying’ praises… it’s the joyous unshamed shouting and singing of praises… like a prisoner set free…

I dunno if you ever read this…but hey it need not hurt so much… L and I are praying for you c….

hang on k? We’ve survived adv camp… Jesus saw us through it… He’ll saw you through this too..

 

